Romance Larghetto

Yike (Tony) Yang

Chopin Concerto No. 1


Canadian Yike (Tony) Yang

plays Chopin’s Piano Concerto no. 1

In the 17th Chopin International Piano Competition.

On video here are the Second and Third Movements of the concerto.

Chopin’s compositions are not noted for their orchestral arrangements.

These rather lack the fireworks nor the brilliance easily noticeable

with the other composers of his time.

The First Movement of the Concerto No. 1 started with what seems like

a lyrical passage of an Edvard Grieg, and then proceeds to a benign pastoral

introduction of the themes to be played.

It is as if the movement relates a story

of  “how it was and what could have happened”.

Then comes the Second Movement, and the concerto becomes seductive,

inviting the listener to hear a different story.

  The piano asks a question, and thereafter

answers this question by its own

with what women would call ‘sweet nothings”

Listen and get entranced.

Chopin calls this movement aptly as Romance.



Romance Larghetto.mp4

(Chopin may not be that good in orchestral arrangements but he overcame this shortcoming by making the orchestra as an accompaniment only.)